default banner image

Fujifilm Frontier-S DX100 Printer (DX100)

Fujifilm Frontier-S DX100 Printer (DX100)
 
(11 reviews)  

5 stars
 6 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars
 3 review(s)
1 stars
 2 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
11 Results Found
Displaying Results 1 - 11
Jason
Mar 24, 2017
Great prints fast!

Advantages: Fast print speeds. Great looking prints. Fairly inexpensive prints compared to other printers.

Disadvantages: This is my second printer. First one failed after 49860 images. Not sure what the life expectancy is though.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (0)
Sam Gray
Jan 25, 2018
Anyone looking to purchase one of these printers be wary that if you potentially have a high volume of prints that you will need to replace the print head after about 100,000 prints also on both of our models it leaves a stripe down anything on 8? Lustre paper.

We were advised AFTER purchase by FUJIFILM themselves that the printer only has a service life of 100,000 prints and that they were not surprised that ours had stopped working, after suggesting that we purchase said printer knowing full well how much volume we did.

Advantages: Small footprint and image quality good

Disadvantages: Service life is only 100,000 prints!
Issues with marking on 8? L paper
Expensive to run
Support is expensive and not possible to diy repair
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
BRIAN WAITES
Dec 3, 2018
these are great when new and used regularly, as soon as you start getting clogs though its all down hill, you waste tons of ink trying to clean the head and then have to buy expensive maintenance waste tanks and i the clog is bad enough it has to be sent in for repair whereas every other machine I have ever had has utilities to clean and purge the ink and refill , which is still expensive but less than shipping it off and having down time.
Also color management was a constant moving target with these machines for us and i've done my own printing for nearly 20 years.
when we first got them and got decent color it was like printing money , now i have two paperweights and fuji wants 40.00 just to take a phone call for tech support , you do get it applied to shipping when you have to send it in but that's little comfort when you have nearly 6,000 dollars of dead hardware.

Advantages: when working they are a great value and convenience with low cost per print

Disadvantages: the honey moon is too soon over , make tons of money with these quick and buy them on sale, keep a new one in the box for when the last one fails
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
Chris
Aug 15, 2018
We had to replace the print head twice due to the ink drying out. We used the printer almost every day so a lag time between prints wasn't the reason for the ink drying out. Ended up selling the printer on eBay for parts as the print head dried out a 3rd time and the printer was out of warranty.

Advantages: Beautiful inkjet prints

Disadvantages: Ink is guaranteed to dry out at some point and damage the print head.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Coby James
Dec 6, 2018
Not dependable. I have three and have had to send all three in for reapairs right after the warranty expired on them. The durability on this machine is horrible. Reapirs are very expensive. Will NOT be purchasing another Fuji product in the future. Definitely not worth the headaches.

Advantages: They print very nice IF you can keep them printing.

Disadvantages: It is very hard to set these up, and color controls are convoluted and require settings in 3 DIFFERENT places. Not user friendly. Fuji Service is horrendous. First question out of their mouth is "we need a credit card" not how can we help you. There needs to be a lemon law for this company.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
HQ Fotolab
Jun 4, 2016
Very good printer . Checks in use since two months . I would recommend .
hqfotolab.pl

Advantages: quality pictures, nice colors, silent

Disadvantages: only the purchase price
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (4)
Heil Photography LLC
Nov 22, 2018
We have several of the DX100's and they are used heavy every week. Our oldest is 3 years old and we are well over 100,000 prints on it! We print 4x6, 5x7 and 8x10's without any problems. Never had lines on 8" Lustre and Lustre is the only paper we use. We use the Fuji Inkjet Paper, but we have used 8" Kodak once and it was just as nice as the Fuji. Not sure what the issue may of been with others leaving negative feedback, BUT this is an awesome printer and DO NOT BE SCARED AWAY! There will always be a lemon and there will always be haters. The Print Heads are Epsons and the head used on this printer has been around for several years and has been used in several Epson models. Including in some commercial units. It is a proven print head. But, like any Inkjet printer. They need to be used weekly and you'll never have clogging issues. Make sure to perform maintenance monthly by keeping the capping station clean. Just like any other Epson printer. By keeping the capping station clean. Will keep the ink from drying out. If the seal is dirty, it's going to dry out the head. Any Professional Printer using these printers for heavy use knows this. Bottom line...This is a great printer for the money and is the cheapest to use for the quality you get. Hope this helps those on the fence. Take a leap and you will not be disappointed.

Advantages: Low Cost and Great Quality

Disadvantages: No back printing on Images like wet lab.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jason O'Donnell
Dec 12, 2018
I have one of these that use in my studio - still use our print lab for the big orders but this printer is great for filling orders quickly and for doing panoramic prints.

Thank you for the reviews before me - lets do some math on 100,000 prints - if this printer does 100,000 prints you should be able to make at least $10 profit per print - unless my mat his wrong, that is a million buck in PROFIT you made - not bad for a $3000 printer (rounded up after taxes and shipping).

So now lets calculate the per cost per print taking into consideration the cost of the unit. Using $3000 to make the math easy you divide 100,000 prints by $3000 and you get $0.03 per print (assuming 8x10) - so just make sure you add this onto the cost of creating and printing when you sell a print.

And as for $6000 in useless hardware, when if the mat his still correct, your three machines should of brought you at least $3 million.

Take care of them and they should take care of you.

I do agree with poor customer service - sucks that they require a credit card to just talk to you - the same thing happened to me. If they don't want to deal with customers problems, they should not sell anything. Breakdowns occur but it is how I am treated that really matters to me.

When I buy media, I buy the full set of ink and enough paper to match the ink - huge cost when you do by but more efficient on shipping and you will not run out of paper or the ink. Always have stock!!


Advantages: Great looking prints.
Once it works, goes pretty quick - can take a bit to get the print job over there the first one out.
Huge paper rolls
Ink lasts a long time - at least three rolls!!


Disadvantages: Heavy as hell - huge!!
Cases cost an arm and a leg - why so expensive for a printer case!!!! Had to have one custom made for WAY cheaper!!!
Only max of 8 inches wide - I would love 11 or 13 inches wide - we can dream cant we!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
James B. Solomon
May 14, 2019
Loved this printer out of the box but ink head issues are the biggest pain, clogs are understandable but when it happens on a new machine, draining a complete set of ink in the process, then all profits are lost.

Advantages: Great quality when it works as it should.

Disadvantages: Drains ink on cleaning clogs that you can only pray will be cleared. If you use this system, buy two and be prepared to toss the current one, always keep a spare printer on hand.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Samuel Brown
Jul 6, 2019
Great printer i been using this printer for over a year now . i tehier using lightroom at all the events i love it
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sol Keyser, Digital Photo Lab, Sarasota,FL
Nov 6, 2019
I have two printers from Imaging Spectrum, and I am very happy. Quality is outstandig. Clogin gproblems are minor. Very good printers for small business

Disadvantages: Rare cloging. Very rare IF U do not turning printers OFF
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)